A Gift From The Heart

At the beginning of my career, I was a preschool teacher at a child care center. One of my most favorite kids (it happens, teachers have favorites) was a quiet, introspective boy who loved the Boston Red Sox and ate sushi with chopsticks for lunch. His family was in the United States temporarily and during my final year at the center, they moved back to Japan. On his last day, the last day before Christmas break, he presented me with a beautiful scarf and this piece of artwork.

mosaic

It is one of my most favorite things. I’ve hung it in every office I’ve had, including the one I currently work out of at home. I love the detail he included, especially the brown flecks in my blonde hair. I can picture him sitting at his kitchen table, working on the piece, step by step, carefully drawing the outline before filling it in with carefully torn pieces of paper.

He really has a special place in my heart and I feel so lucky to have this little piece of his.

#Reverb16 Day 3 writing prompt: The Best Gift I Ever Got: We all remember That One Gift that gave us The Most Joy. Show us what that gift was for you and describe why it makes gives you all the feels.

Leave a Reply

